The first time Alex ‘Cowboy’ Oliveira met Tim Means inside the octagon at UFC 207, Means landed an illegal strike to a downed Oliveira which led to the bout being ruled a No Contest at 3:33 of the first round. At last night’s UFC Fight Night 106, ‘Cowboy’ got his revenge by defeating Means via rear-naked choke in the second round, but Oliveira also landed an illegal blow of his own, though he had to deal with veteran referee ‘Big’ John McCarthy seconds later.
VIDEO: John McCarthy Disciplines Alex Oliveira at UFC Fight Night 106
McCarthy has said in the past that a round has not ended until the referee has made an official call (not when the horn sounds) and ‘Big’ John was clearly not happy with Oliveira — as he had already gotten in between the two fighters physically.
@thomaskirkbrid1 the round officially ends at the call of the referee. The bell is their notification
— Big John McCarthy (@JohnMcCarthyMMA) October 27, 2014
Full Fight Highlights from Alex Oliveira’s submission win over Tim Means can be seen below:
Follow @MMA_Newsline on Twitter for the latest MMA News, Exclusive Interviews and more from your favorite mixed martial artists!